Paul Humphreys

Commonwealth Professor

Philosophy of Science, Epistemology

Curriculum Vitae // PDF icon PHIL.Humphreys.P.CV_14-15.pdf

Paul Humphreys, Commonwealth Professor of Philosophy, specializes in the philosophy of science. He is co-director of UVA’s Center for the Study of Data and Knowledge; co-director of the Human and Machine Intelligence group; series editor of Oxford Studies in the Philosophy of Science; a member of the editorial boards of Synthese, Studies in the History and Philosophy of Science, and Foundations of Science; and a member of the governing board of the Philosophy Documentation Center. For more information see




Selected Publications
Emergence: A Philosophical Account (Oxford, 2016)

Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Science (Oxford, 2016)

`Explanation as Condition Satisfaction’ PSA 2012: Symposia Papers (December 2014)

`Scientific Metaphysics and Speculative Metaphysics’, pp.51 – 78 (Chapter 3) in Scientific Metaphysics, Don Ross, James Ladyman, and Harold Kincaid (eds). Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013.

Emergence: Contemporary Readings in Science and Philosophy. Mark Bedau and Paul Humphreys (eds). The MIT Press, 2007

Extending Ourselves: Computational Science, Empiricism, and Scientific Method (Oxford, 2004)

"Some Considerations on Conditional Chance," British Journal for the Philosophy of Science (2004)

"Are There Algorithms that Discover Causal Structure?" Synthese (1999, with David Freedman)

"How Properties Emerge," Philosophy of Science 64 (1997), 1-17

The Chances of Explanation (Princeton, 1989)

"Why Propensities Cannot Be Probabilities," The Philosophical Review 94 (1985), 557-570

Full-time Faculty

Nate Adams

Assistant Professor

Elizabeth Barnes


Talbot Brewer


Ross P. Cameron

Professor & Director of Undergraduate Program

Brie Gertler

Commonwealth Professor & Vice-Provost for Academic Affairs

Kimberly Harris

Assistant Professor

Zachary Irving

Assistant Professor

Harold Langsam


Antonia LoLordo

Professor & Department Chair

Loren Lomasky

Cory Professor of Political Philosophy, Policy, and Law

Ian McCready-Flora

Assistant Professor

Trenton Merricks

Commonwealth Professor & Director of Placement

Walter Ott

Professor & Director of Graduate Studies

Jorge Secada

Professor & Director of Diversity and Inclusion

Rebecca Stangl

Professor & Director of Graduate Admissions

Affiliated Faculty

Colin Bird

Associate Professor (Politics) & Director of Political Philosophy, Policy and Law

Erin Eaker

Association Dean & Assistant Professor

M. Jamie Ferreira

Professor Emerita (Religious Studies)

Corin Fox

Association Dean & Assistant Professor

George Klosko

Henry L. and Grace Doherty Professor (Politics)

Emeritus Faculty

James Cargile

Professor Emeritus

Daniel Devereux

Professor Emeritus

Cora Diamond

Kenan Professor of Philosophy Emerita

Paul Humphreys

Commonwealth Professor

John Marshall

Professor Emeritus

A. John Simmons

John Allen Hollingsworth Professor of Philosophy

George Thomas

Professor Emeritus