Rebecca Stangl

Rebecca Stangl

Associate Professor

Ethics, History of Philosophy

Curriculum Vitae // File CV.docx

  • Office Address: 124 Cocke Hall
  • Office Hours: Tuesdays 3:00-5:00pm

Rebecca Stangl is Associate Professor of Philosophy at the University of Virginia, specializing in contemporary virtue ethics and bioethics.

Recent and forthcoming essays include:
•    “Neo-Aristotelian Supererogation,” Ethics, 126:2 (January 2016) 339-365. (Published Online: December 2015.)
•    “Cultural Relativity and the Justification of the Virtues,” in Nancy Snow, ed. The Oxford Handbook of Virtue (Oxford: Oxford University Press, forthcoming 2015.)
•    “Taking Moral Risks Virtuously,” in Christian Miller, ed. The Character Project: New Perspectives in Psychology, Philosophy, and Theology (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2014), 215-233.
•    “Particularism”, “Thick Ethical Property”, and “Trolley Problem,” in Robert Audi, ed. The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy, 3rd Edition (Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2012).
•    “Asymmetrical Virtue Particularism,” Ethics, 121: 1 (October 2010): 37-57.
•     “Selective Termination and Respect for the Disabled,” The Journal of Medicine and Philosophy, 35:1 (February 2010) 32-45. (Published Online: December 24, 2009.)  
•    “Plan B and the Doctrine of Double Effect,” Hastings Center Report, 39:4 (July 2009) 21-25.
•    “A Dilemma for Particularist Virtue Ethics,” Philosophical Quarterly, 58:233 (October 2008) 665-678. (Published Online: November 5, 2007.)
•    “Particularism and the Point of Moral Principles,” Ethical Theory and Moral Practice, 9:2 (April 2006) 201-229.

She is currently at work on a book called Neither Heroes nor Saints: Neo-Aristotelian Self-Cultivation.  This research was supported by a grant from The Character Project at Wake Forest University, sponsored by the Templeton Foundation. 

She was also a recipient of The University of Virginia’s 2012 All-University Teaching Award.

Visiting Faculty

Benjamin Bagley

Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Joshua Schwartz

Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Stacie Thyrion

Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Full-time Faculty

Elizabeth Barnes


Talbot Brewer


Ross P. Cameron

Professor & Director of Undergraduate Program

Brie Gertler

Interim Associate Dean for Arts & Humanities, Commonwealth Professor

Paul Humphreys

Commonwealth Professor

Zachary Irving

Assistant Professor

Harold Langsam

Professor & Director of Graduate Studies

Antonia LoLordo

Professor & Department Chair

Loren Lomasky

Cory Professor of Political Philosophy, Policy, and Law

Ian McCready-Flora

Assistant Professor

Trenton Merricks

Commonwealth Professor & Director of Placement

Walter Ott

Professor & Director of Graduate Admissions

Jorge Secada


A. John Simmons

John Allen Hollingsworth Professor of Philosophy

Rebecca Stangl

Associate Professor

Affiliated Faculty

Colin Bird

Associate Professor (Politics) & Director of Political Philosophy, Policy and Law

Erin Eaker

A&S Assistant Dean & Assistant Professor

M. Jamie Ferreira

Professor Emerita (Religious Studies)

Kim Ferzan

Caddell & Chapman Professor of Law

George Klosko

Henry L. and Grace Doherty Professor (Politics)

Emeritus Faculty

James Cargile

Professor Emeritus

Daniel Devereux

Professor Emeritus

Cora Diamond

Kenan Professor of Philosophy Emerita

John Marshall

Professor Emeritus

George Thomas

Professor Emeritus