Harold Langsam


Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology

Curriculum Vitae // PDF icon CV Langsam.pdf

  • Office Address: 107 Cocke Hall
  • Office Hours: Monday 3:30-4:30 & Wednesday 12:45-1:45
  • Class Schedule:

    Phil 3180 Nietzsche

    Phil 8320 Contemporary Epistemology


Professor of Philosophy. Professor Langsam works primarily in the areas of philosophy of mind and epistemology. He is especially interested in the nature of conscious states and their relevance to epistemic justification. He also teaches Nietzsche at the undergraduate level and human nature at the introductory level.


The Wonder of Consciousness: Understanding the Mind through Philosophical Reflection (Cambridge: MIT Press, 2011).


Recent Articles:

“Nietzsche and Value Creation,” Inquiry, forthcoming.

“The Intuitive Case for Naïve Realism,” Philosophical Explorations (2016) DOI: 10.1080/13869795.2016.1222627

“A Defense of McDowell’s Response to the Sceptic,” Acta Analytica 29 (2014): 43-59.

“A Defense of Restricted Phenomenal Conservatism,” Philosophical Papers 42 (2013): 315-340.

Full-time Faculty

Sahar Akhtar

Assistant Professor

Elizabeth Barnes


Talbot Brewer


Ross P. Cameron

Professor & Director of Undergraduate Program

James Cargile


Daniel Devereux


Brie Gertler

Commonwealth Professor & Department Chair

Paul Humphreys

Commonwealth Professor

Harold Langsam


Antonia LoLordo

Professor & Director of Graduate Studies

Loren Lomasky

Cory Professor of Political Philosophy, Policy, and Law

Ian McCready-Flora

Assistant Professor

Trenton Merricks

Commonwealth Professor

Walter Ott

Professor & Director of Graduate Admissions

Jorge Secada


A. John Simmons

John Allen Hollingsworth Professor

Rebecca Stangl

Associate Professor

Affiliated Faculty

Colin Bird

Associate Professor (Politics) & Director of Political Philosophy, Policy and Law

Erin Eaker

A&S Assistant Dean & Assistant Professor

M. Jamie Ferreira

Professor Emerita (Religious Studies)

Kim Ferzan

Caddell & Chapman Professor of Law

George Klosko

Henry L. and Grace Doherty Professor (Politics)

Emeritus Faculty

Cora Diamond

Kenan Professor of Philosophy Emerita

John Marshall

Professor Emeritus

George Thomas

Professor Emeritus

Lecturer Faculty

Corin Fox


James Mumford


Visiting Faculty

Andrew Morgan

Assistant Professor